classification
Title: Request for 2 Windows installation changes.
Type: behavior Stage: resolved
Components: Installation, Windows Versions: Python 3.8, Python 3.7, Python 3.6
process
Status: closed Resolution: wont fix
Dependencies: Superseder:
Assigned To: Nosy List: paul.moore, steve.dower, terry.reedy, tim.golden, zach.ware
Priority: normal Keywords:

Created on 2018-07-02 18:09 by terry.reedy, last changed 2019-08-02 23:00 by steve.dower. This issue is now closed.

Messages (3)
msg320904 - (view) Author: Terry J. Reedy (terry.reedy) * (Python committer) Date: 2018-07-02 18:09
1. On 3.7.0, but not 3.6.6, 'Python 3.7 Module Docs' is listed twice.

2. On both, 'Python x.y Manuals' always opens the .chm full-screen, even after the user closes in part-screen mode.  I think part-screen would be better for the initial open.  It would definitely be better to remember a user's setting when re-opening.
msg320908 - (view) Author: Steve Dower (steve.dower) * (Python committer) Date: 2018-07-02 19:32
1. What do you mean by "listed twice"? I see 32-bit and 64-bit copies, but that's expected as they may show different modules.

2. We don't control HTML Help Reader's memory, so that's not an option unfortunately. We also don't control the initial size when not opening maximised and it has been known to open off-screen, which I'm not all that thrilled about.

However, HTML Help Reader does seem to remember the location you left it, if not the maximised state.

I'm inclined to see this as a personal preference and would like to wait and see whether this issue gains broader support before making any change. Python 3.5 also opened in full screen, so there have been a few years now without it being raised as a concern.
msg320911 - (view) Author: Terry J. Reedy (terry.reedy) * (Python committer) Date: 2018-07-02 20:25
1. I saw "Python 3.7 Module Docs (64 bit)" twice.  But this seems to be a local issue. When I clicked on each, the second worked, the first brought up something like 'The python.exe this shortcut points to had been deleted [or moved?].  Delete shortcut?'.  I clicked yes and everything else remains and works.  Perhaps I once installed in the default location, or started to, and canceled, and this one icon got let behind.

2. If there is nothing you can do short of writing a new viewer, we can close this whenever.
History
Date User Action Args
2019-08-02 23:00:25steve.dowersetstatus: open -> closed
resolution: wont fix
stage: needs patch -> resolved
2018-07-02 20:25:13terry.reedysetmessages: + msg320911
2018-07-02 19:32:34steve.dowersetmessages: + msg320908
2018-07-02 18:09:58terry.reedycreate