classification
Title: antigravity tests
Type: enhancement Stage: resolved
Components: Library (Lib) Versions: Python 3.4
process
Status: closed Resolution: rejected
Dependencies: Superseder:
Assigned To: ezio.melotti Nosy List: Ramchandra Apte, brett.cannon, chris.jerdonek, christian.heimes, eric.araujo, ezio.melotti, georg.brandl, jcea, maker, michael.foord, pitrou
Priority: normal Keywords: patch

Created on 2012-10-01 23:36 by ezio.melotti, last changed 2012-10-15 10:40 by ezio.melotti. This issue is now closed.

Files
File name Uploaded Description Edit
antigravity_tests.diff ezio.melotti, 2012-10-01 23:36 antigravity tests review
Messages (10)
msg171762 - (view) Author: Ezio Melotti (ezio.melotti) * (Python committer) Date: 2012-10-01 23:36
The attached patch adds tests for antigravity.
msg171775 - (view) Author: Georg Brandl (georg.brandl) * (Python committer) Date: 2012-10-02 06:05
Are you serious?
msg171777 - (view) Author: Christian Heimes (christian.heimes) * (Python committer) Date: 2012-10-02 08:58
Ezio is as serious as the antigravity module. *g*
msg171797 - (view) Author: Brett Cannon (brett.cannon) * (Python committer) Date: 2012-10-02 13:10
It's actually a nice example of using unittest.mock. =)
msg171802 - (view) Author: Michael Foord (michael.foord) * (Python committer) Date: 2012-10-02 13:31
What happens if test_geohash runs first? It looks like test_antigravity will only pass if it is run first. You could remove the order dependence by ensuring antigravity is not in sys.modules. sys.modules.pop('antigravity', None)
msg171805 - (view) Author: Chris Jerdonek (chris.jerdonek) * (Python committer) Date: 2012-10-02 13:58
Oh, this explains it. I was wondering why my browser was opening xkcd whenever I tried running doctest against all modules in the library.
msg171823 - (view) Author: Antoine Pitrou (pitrou) * (Python committer) Date: 2012-10-02 18:40
I'm not sure why we would test undocumented jokes...
Do other Python implementations have to provide them too?
msg172809 - (view) Author: Ramchandra Apte (Ramchandra Apte) * Date: 2012-10-13 15:04
@Antoine Aw.. no funny bone in you..
msg172915 - (view) Author: √Čric Araujo (eric.araujo) * (Python committer) Date: 2012-10-14 20:29
Agreed with Antoine.
msg172956 - (view) Author: Ezio Melotti (ezio.melotti) * (Python committer) Date: 2012-10-15 10:40
The test could be made CPython-specific, but if you think it's not necessary I'll just close the issue.  The main reason I wrote this was to experiment a bit with unittest.mock :)
History
Date User Action Args
2012-10-15 10:40:08ezio.melottisetstatus: open -> closed
resolution: rejected
messages: + msg172956

stage: patch review -> resolved
2012-10-14 20:29:18eric.araujosetmessages: + msg172915
2012-10-13 15:04:48Ramchandra Aptesetnosy: + Ramchandra Apte
messages: + msg172809
2012-10-06 16:52:38eric.araujosetnosy: + eric.araujo
2012-10-03 02:19:42jceasetnosy: + jcea
2012-10-02 21:38:11makersetnosy: + maker
2012-10-02 18:40:42pitrousetnosy: + pitrou
messages: + msg171823
2012-10-02 13:58:07chris.jerdoneksetnosy: + chris.jerdonek
messages: + msg171805
2012-10-02 13:31:36michael.foordsetmessages: + msg171802
2012-10-02 13:10:08brett.cannonsetnosy: + brett.cannon
messages: + msg171797
2012-10-02 08:58:59christian.heimessetnosy: + christian.heimes
messages: + msg171777
2012-10-02 06:05:11georg.brandlsetnosy: + georg.brandl
messages: + msg171775
2012-10-01 23:36:41ezio.melotticreate